On lucid dreaming

Just had a dream within a dream within a dream.

So I had woken up at 7:30 today, and went back to sleep at 9:30 with an alarm set at 11 AM so I can arrive on time for my lunch date with a friend. I dream that I woke up at 3 pm, and there are a million missed calls from the friend, who is probably justifiably mad. I look at my phone, it seems that I had instead set my alarm to 11 pm. Now, the reputed movie Waking Life has taught me that one can’t really read the time in dreams, so I take this as a sign that this is real life, and I panic and I tell my dad. After a while, I realize this was all a dream and I wake up and I tell my dad about it, and I still have enough time to get to lunch. Then I realize that was a dream, and I wake up again, tell my dad about it, and go off to lunch. That was also a dream.

I *just* woke up (for real, hopefully, this time), and found the friend’s text on my phone asking me to reschedule for dinner. I tell my dad about the whole thing.

Moral of the story: Don’t trust Waking Life as a guide to your lucid dreaming adventures.

Leave a Reply

